State of the OLists

 Posted by on 11 July 2011 at 1:00 pm  Announcements, OList
Jul 112011
 

Just as a reminder — mostly for my Objectivist readers — OList.com is the home of the thirteen specialized friendly e-mail lists:

  • OActivists: OActivists is an e-mail list for Objectivists committed to fostering positive cultural and political change. Its purpose is to encourage and assist effective advocacy of Objectivist ideas in non-Objectivist forums by facilitating communication between Objectivist activists. Membership is limited to Objectivist activists.
  • OLeaders: OLeaders is an e-mail list for the leaders and helpers of Objectivist organizations, particularly community groups and campus clubs. Its purpose is to facilitate the exchange of ideas about the effective creation, management, expansion, and promotion of Objectivist organizations and their events, as well as communicate announcements of likely interest. Membership is limited to Objectivists.
  • OBloggers: OBloggers is an e-mail list for Objectivist bloggers. Its purpose is to facilitate communication relevant to blogging, such as upcoming events, blogworthy links, posts of interest, blog promotion, and best blogging practices. Membership is limited to Objectivist bloggers.
  • OGrownups: OGrownups is an e-mail list for for Objectivists and others interested in raising and educating children well. Its purpose is to facilitate discussion amongst Objectivists about child development, discipline techniques, education methods, parenting resources, and more. Non-Objectivist lurkers are welcome.
  • OEvolve: OEvolve is an e-mail list for Objectivists and others interested in the proper application of evolutionary principles to diet, fitness, and health. Its purpose is to facilitate discussion about the practical sciences of cooking, nutrition, fitness, health, and more. Non-Objectivist lurkers are welcome.
  • OProducers: OProducers is an e-mail list for Objectivists and others committed to improving their habits of productivity in their careers, projects, and other pursuits. Its purpose is to facilitate discussion about practical methods for better management of time, projects, money, people, and other resources. Non-Objectivist lurkers are welcome.
  • OGeeks: OGeeks is an e-mail list for Objectivists and others interested in geeky topics like science, computing, engineering, mathematics, and technology. Its purpose is to facilitate discussion and sharing among Objectivists about all things geeky, such as best practices in programming, software reviews, scientific discoveries, educational resources, logic puzzles, technology trends, and geek comics. Non-Objectivist lurkers are welcome.
  • OHomos: OHomos is an mailing list for for gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) Objectivists and others interested in the proper application of reason, egoism, and rights to matters of mutual interest. Its purpose is to facilitate friendly discussion amongst GLBT Objectivists about dating, sexual health, social events, and “gay rights.” Non-Objectivist GLBTs and non-GLBT Objectivists are welcome as lurkers.
  • OShooters: OShooters is an e-mail list for Objectivists and others enthused about firearms and committed to gun rights. Its purpose is to facilitate discussion about firearm models, shooting techniques, gun ranges, gun laws, and the like. Non-Objectivist lurkers are welcome.
  • OGardeners: OGardeners is an e-mail list for Objectivists and others interested in gardening and landscaping. Its purpose is to facilitate discussion about the cultivation of flowers, vegetables, shrubs, and trees. Non-Objectivist lurkers are welcome.
  • OCrafters: OCrafters is an e-mail list for Objectivists and others who engage in the production of crafts. Its purpose is to provide a forum for Objectivist crafters to ask each other questions, share useful advice and resources, and to brag about work in progress or completed. Non-Objectivist lurkers are welcome.
  • OAcademics: OAcademics is an e-mail list for Objectivist academics to discuss teaching, research, coursework, dissertations, job prospects, publication, and all other aspects of life in (or after) academia. Membership is limited to Objectivist academics.
  • OPeople: OPeople is an e-mail list for Objectivists and other OList subscribers to disseminate announcements about OList event, such as Movie Nights and Virtual Socials.

Also, OList hosts some fun online events! To receive regular announcements of these events, please subscribe to OPeople.

  • The OList Virtual Socials are of two hour-long weekly online chats exclusively for OList subscribers. Tuesday’s Happy Hour starts at 6 pm PT / 7 pm MT / 8 pm CT / 9 pm ET. It features Appetizers and Drink Specials (i.e. the weekly conversation topics), usually announced on Earl Parson’s blog, Creatures of Prometheus, on Monday. Sunday’s Brunch starts at 9 am PT / 10 am MT / 11 am CT / 12 pm ET. It doesn’t have any set topic.
  • The OList Movie Nights are online gatherings for OList subscribers to watch a movie and chat. The movie chosen is watched simultaneously via NetFlix Streaming, while viewers comment on the movie periodically in the chat. OList Movie Nights happen on the first, third, and fifth Saturday evenings of each month, starting exactly at 6 pm PT / 7 pm MT / 8 pm CT / 9 pm ET. Note: Movie Nights are suspended for the summer while people play outside.

To join these events, you must have the URL, login, and password for the OList chat that is periodically sent to all the OLists.

Finally, OList keeps a Google Calendar of online Objectivist events. You can subscribe to it using XML or iCal formats. (Right click to copy the link URL, then copy that into your calendar program.)

That’s all folks! And thanks so much to my fabulous slew of OList volunteers for making that possible!

   
Suffusion theme by Sayontan Sinha