In Sunday morning’s episode of Philosophy in Action Radio, I’ll answer questions on moral luck, parental support of adult children, guaranteed pensions for government employees, right to die, and more with Greg Perkins.

  • Who: Dr. Diana Hsieh and Greg Perkins
  • What: Philosophy in Action Radio: Moral Luck, Adult Children, Promised Pensions, and More
  • When: Sunday, 2 December 2012, 8 am PT / 9 am MT / 10 am CT / 11 am ET
  • Where: Philosophy in Action’s Live Studio

This week’s questions are:

  • Question 1: Moral Luck: Isn’t ‘moral luck’ a self-contradictory term? What does it mean? Does it exist?
  • Question 2: Parental Support of Adult Children: When should parents refuse to support their adult children? Some parents continue to support their 30-year-old and even 40-year-old adult children. Usually, these adult children are chronic screw-ups without much interest in improving their lives or even holding down a steady job. Are these parents immoral for helping the child? Are the parents contributing to his or her problems? How can the parents stop in a way that’s fair to the dependent child?
  • Question 3: Guaranteed Pensions for Government Employees: Should pensions to government employees be guaranteed? Many cities and states are running into fiscal trouble and are reneging on promises to pay pensions to retired government employees, such as policemen. Should those promised payments be guaranteed, even if that means raising taxes or cutting back elsewhere? After all, those payments are part of a contract made between the employer and the employee. Or if money is tight for the city/state government, should the retirees have to share the same risk of default as anyone else the government owes money to?
  • Question 4: Right to Die: Is there a right to die and/or a right to be killed? Does a person have a right to die? If so, under what conditions? Moreover, does a person unable to kill himself (due to illness) have a right to be killed by a willing person?

After that, we’ll tackle some impromptu “Rapid Fire Questions.”

To join the live broadcast and its chat, just point your browser to Philosophy in Action’s Live Studio a few minutes before the show is scheduled to start. By listening live, you can share your thoughts with other listeners and ask us follow-up questions in the text chat.

If you miss the live broadcast, you’ll find the audio podcast from the episode posted here: Q&A Radio: 2 December 2012.

Philosophy in Action Radio broadcasts on Sunday mornings and Thursday evenings. For information on upcoming shows, visit the Episodes on Tap.

I hope that you join us on Sunday morning!

   
Suffusion theme by Sayontan Sinha