In Wednesday evening’s episode of Philosophy in Action Radio, I’ll interview physician and fitness expert Dr. Doug McGuff about “Strength Training Using Body by Science.”

  • Who: Dr. Diana Hsieh, with physician and fitness expert Dr. Doug McGuff
  • What: Philosophy in Action Internet Radio: Strength Training Using Body by Science
  • When: Wednesday, 5 December 2012, 6 pm PT / 7 pm MT / 8 pm CT / 9 pm ET
  • Where: Philosophy in Action’s Live Studio

Most people suppose that fitness requires long “cardio” sessions of running, biking, stair-climbing, or the like. In contrast, Dr. Doug McGuff advocates brief, infrequent, and high-intensity weight training using slow movements. Does this approach work? What are its benefits and costs compared to other fitness regimens?

Dr. Doug McGuff is an emergency medicine doctor practicing in South Carolina with a long-time interest in fitness, weightlifting, and high-intensity exercise. In 1997, he opened Ultimate Exercise, where he and his instructors explore the limits of exercise. Dr. McGuff is the best-selling co-author of Body by Science and The Body by Science Question and Answer Book. You can read Dr. McGuff’s blog at www.BodyByScience.net.

To join the live broadcast and its chat, just point your browser to Philosophy in Action’s Live Studio a few minutes before the show is scheduled to start. By listening live, you can share your thoughts with other listeners and ask us follow-up questions in the text chat.

If you miss the live broadcast, you’ll find the audio podcast from the episode posted here: 5 December 2012: Dr. Doug McGuff on Strength Training Using Body by Science.

Philosophy in Action Radio broadcasts on Sunday mornings and Thursday evenings. For information on upcoming shows, visit the Episodes on Tap.

I hope that you join us on Wednesday evening!

   
Suffusion theme by Sayontan Sinha