In Sunday morning’s episode of Philosophy in Action Radio, I’ll answer questions on right to work laws, deception in a crisis, philosophy versus psychology, the value of gift exchanges, and more with Greg Perkins.

  • Who: Dr. Diana Hsieh and Greg Perkins
  • What: Philosophy in Action Internet Radio: Right to Work, Deception in a Crisis, Gifts, and More
  • When: Sunday, 16 December 2012, 8 am PT / 9 am MT / 10 am CT / 11 am ET
  • Where: Philosophy in Action’s Live Studio

This week’s questions are:

  • Question 1: Right to Work Laws: Do “right to work” laws violate or protect rights? Some states are attempting to pass “right to work” laws, despite massive union opposition. Under such laws, employers cannot require employees to be a member of a union – as often happens due to federal law. These laws aim to empower employees against unwelcome unions. Are these laws legitimate – perhaps as defense against unjust federal law or a step toward freedom of contract? Or are they indefensible because they violate the rights of employers to dictate the terms of employment?
  • Question 2: Deception in a Crisis: Is it moral to deceive to someone to help him through a crisis? Imagine that a man is about to break up with his girlfriend (or divorce his wife), but then he discovers that she has a serious disease or she suffers a serious accident. Is it moral for him to help her through the crisis under the false pretense of a stable, loving relationship? (What if that would take months of deception?) Or should the man be frank with the woman as soon as possible about parting ways, perhaps only only offering help as a friend, if that? Would that be cruel?
  • Question 3: Philosophy Versus Psychology: What’s the proper distinction between philosophy and psychology? Given that psychology concerns the mind, I don’t see how to clearly distinguish it from philosophy. For example, when would emotions be a philosophic concern versus a psychological concern? In other words, where is the dividing line between philosophy and psychology? Can they be separated?
  • Question 4: The Value of Gift Exchanges: What is the purpose of exchanging gifts during the holidays? To me, gift exchanges seem meaningless: they’re a waste of time and money. What am I missing?

After that, we’ll tackle some impromptu “Rapid Fire Questions.”

To join the live broadcast and its chat, just point your browser to Philosophy in Action’s Live Studio a few minutes before the show is scheduled to start. By listening live, you can share your thoughts with other listeners and ask us follow-up questions in the text chat.

If you miss the live broadcast, you’ll find the audio podcast from the episode posted here: Q&A Radio: 16 December 2012.

Philosophy in Action Radio broadcasts on Sunday mornings and Wednesday evenings. For information on upcoming shows, visit the Episodes on Tap.

I hope that you join us on Sunday morning!

   
Suffusion theme by Sayontan Sinha