In Sunday morning’s episode of Philosophy in Action Radio, I’ll answer questions on the good in american culture, romance between an atheist and a believer, the limits of humor, and more with Greg Perkins.

  • Who: Dr. Diana Hsieh and Greg Perkins
  • What: Philosophy in Action Internet Radio: The Good in American Culture, Romance, Humor, and More
  • When: Sunday, 30 December 2012, 8 am PT / 9 am MT / 10 am CT / 11 am ET
  • Where: Philosophy in Action’s Live Studio

This week’s questions are:

  • Question 1: The Good in American Culture: How is American culture better today better than people think? I’ve heard lots of depressing claims about the abysmal state of American culture lately, particularly since Obama won the election. You’ve disputed that, arguing that America is better in its fundamentals that many people think. What are some of those overlooked but positive American values? How can they be leveraged for cultural and political change?
  • Question 2: Romance Between an Atheist and a Believer: Can a romance between an atheist and a religious believer work? What are the major obstacles? Should the atheist attend church or church socials with his spouse? Should they have a religious wedding ceremony? Should they send their children to religious schools? Do the particular beliefs – or strength of beliefs – of the religious person matter?
  • Question 3: The Limits of Humor: When does humor work against my values? Sometimes I wonder whether my jokes work against what I value. (For example, what’s the most selfish sea creature? An Objectifish!) How do I draw the line?

After that, we’ll tackle some impromptu “Rapid Fire Questions.”

To join the live broadcast and its chat, just point your browser to Philosophy in Action’s Live Studio a few minutes before the show is scheduled to start. By listening live, you can share your thoughts with other listeners and ask us follow-up questions in the text chat.

If you miss the live broadcast, you’ll find the audio podcast from the episode posted here: Q&A Radio: 30 December 2012.

Philosophy in Action Radio broadcasts on Sunday mornings and Thursday evenings. For information on upcoming shows, visit the Episodes on Tap.

I hope that you join us on Sunday morning!

   
Suffusion theme by Sayontan Sinha